I Have Been Tagged: Answer Me This

I have seen on YouTube where there are “Tagging”, but never blogging, so when my friend Jennie tagged me on her blog, I knew I had to do this. So, I hope you enjoy this entry, but also join in for I will have questions of my own and those who I will be tagging too.

1. What is the best characteristic of your spouse/best friend?

This is a difficult one to answer, I say this because for me almost everything about my husband (even the quirks) are something I hold dear to me. But, if I could pick just one it would be….his willingness to not fight or yell when we are in a disagreement, but to talk in a civilized manner. I fear people yelling or even being around people who are fighting. I get to the point where I will curl up and cry out ‘I am sorry’, I naturally will assume that it is my fault for their troubles. With my husband there have been few times where I consider that we have fought, but if we ever raise our voices he especially will ask for forgiveness for how he handled it. Communication is so key with us and should be in all relationships.

2. What is your least favorite routine task and why?

Probably dishes, okay definitely dishes. I think why it is my least favorite is I feel like I am washing the same things over and over again. This is why I proclaim I need multiples of everything in my kitchen that I have to wash; it just feels like I am wearing them down and I will have to buy new ones. I think why dishes are right now my least favorite is also because the dishwasher I have doesn’t clean correctly, so I have to hand wash most of the dishes, which kills my back. My hope is at my next place (which will be base housing again) will have a decent dishwasher.

3. What part of your faith life do you think is particularly strong?

I could honestly say I feel I weak in my faith, even that is difficult to write. I have hit a dark area in my faith where I find I am not strong anywhere. Plus, I have a time figuring out what I am even strong at before this. (For I just feel I am still not worthy for the Love and Truth God has for me.) Sorry, I wish I could come up with an answer.

4. What is your favorite way of giving back to the community/taking care of your neighbor?

I am an information gatherer; what I mean by that is I like to find information so that I can share it when I know someone might need advice. This comes really handy as a Military Spouse, I like the idea of helping someone when I had no help at all. Information gathering also has benefits of being able to help those who are in a runt and need to vent. You cannot also have the answer on hand or in all the things you have stored up, but to know they can come to you just to talk. I feel that is how I give back.

5. What was your favorite place to visit on a vacation/trip/pilgrimage and what should I not miss if I go there?

Though most Americans have one time or another been to Washington D.C. it is still one of the favorite places I like to go to. (Even if it has the one of the highest amount of those who are homeless.) I love visiting D.C. area (That means D.C., Alexandria, and Arlington) you can find something interesting there (or many things).

If you go there I highly recommend going to the Basilica of the Immaculate Conception a wonderful place to view beautiful artworks, but even with it being a tourist spot you can still find that quiet spot. Also, just across the street is the Dominican House of Studies, go to Mass there or say the Liturgy of the Hours with the Dominican Brothers. (I never had the chance to do that, but know it is possible, so do it for me.)

Visit King Street in Historic Alexandria, not only does it have some great places to eat, but no matter what time of the year there is always a musician or artist on the “street corner”. There was once my friend (and Godmother) had the privileged to listen to a harpist in the dead of winter and another time with my husband we heard an opera singer and a violinist.

Finally, go to Arlington Cemetery. I know a lot of people go for the Tomb of the Unknown Soldier, but I find it is a beautiful place to pray the Full 20 decade Rosary. It also has a special grave that I go every time I visit the area. My boys, or the Tomb of the Unknown Civil War Soldiers is really a tomb that gets little to almost not attention. It is like the other older graves that receive any visitors, or if they do have it is by glance. The tomb holds over 2,000 remains of Soldiers, who no one truly knows if they were Union or Confederates, but they are given the final resting place there.

6. If you are sad, how do you cheer yourself up?

Old movies, especially musicals, listening to music, reading a book I have read before, a decade of the Rosary, or taking a long walk.

7. What book(s) do you think everyone needs to read?

My Dearest Friend, which is a collection of John and Abigail Adams letters I find that the book has helped me understand how a love like theirs lasted so long and how they handled the distant. John Adams, by far a great book to understand the times of the founding of the United States. Jesus of Nazareth series by Pope Emeritus Benedict XVI, such a beautiful set of books that helped me understand not just Jesus, but the Church he built upon the Rock.

8. If the Church were to canonize you, what would we remember you for?

I do not find I would be worthy of such a thing, there are so many others who should be recognized by the Church. I strive to be a Saint, but I feel I am not worthy of such an honor.

9. What do you most look forward to in the next 5 years?

I am looking forward having children and raising them. I am looking forward of watching where my husband Naval career will take him.

10. What do you like best about your job/daily work?

Being able to have the chance to have a life without worrying over how much time I have to sleep and go to work. I like the idea of knowing that my husband comes home to a warm meal. And I love the idea that I have the ability to spend time and love my dog.

11. What questions do you have for me?

What books are you hoping to get to in your lifetime? 

What pilgrimages are you hoping to go to in the near future? 

What is one goal you feel you must accomplish? 

It is now time to tag a group of people, I know most of these lovely ladies (yes for my group they are all ladies) have lives and are very popular in the blog world, so if they do response and write a post, I am happy, but if they don’t I am not upset by it.

Emily: Living Adventurously 

Cristina: Filling My Prayer Closet 

Jenny: Plain Grace

Amanda: Worthy of Agape

Christine: Domestic Vocation

Hallie: Moxie Wife

Jennifer: Conversion Diary

Here are my questions: 

1. Who are your Patron Saints and why? 

2. What is one goal you feel you must accomplish? 

3. What is your favorite work of Pope Emeritus Benedict XVI

4. Where is that one place you go to when you want to be alone? 

5. Why did you choose the blog name you have? 

6. What is you favorite Hymn? 

7. Who is that one priest or sister that left that strong impact in your life? 

8. What is your favorite Parable? 

9. Which of the Gospels is your favorite? 

10. What are your favorite mysteries? 

2 thoughts on “I Have Been Tagged: Answer Me This

  1. What books are you hoping to get to in your lifetime?

    All the books! I’m actually hoping that there’ll be a nice library in Heaven. And…. I’d like to (finally) make it through the Catholic Encyclopedia. I’ve been stuck on “C” for a while now.

    What pilgrimages are you hoping to go to in the near future?

    Rome and the Holy Land. I haven’t been to either and would dearly love to!

    What is one goal you feel you must accomplish?

    Hmm. Good question. Part of reconciling myself to this terminal disease I have is knowing that I might not have a tomorrow. So I try not to think of things as “I *must* do this or…” There are plenty of things I’d like to do, but I don’t feel the need to pressure myself about them. Plus, I’d be wondering if I’m really following God’s plan for me, if I’m so busy fulfilling what *I* think is important to do.

Leave a Reply

