Quick Takes Monday Vol. 3

Monday Quick Takes Image

 

 

-1-

Finally, I have an image to go with this little Link-Up. It might change as time goes on, but as of right now I am digging the image. What does everyone think about it?

-2-

I finally finished the book I started on Ash Wednesday! The Catholic Way  by Cardinal Wuerl was finished this morning. Almost a week, that is how long it took me to read that one book. As I mentioned in my 7QT I feel it was the questions at the end of each chapter that caused the lag. I will say other than the lag of reading it, I liked it and I highlighted a lot.

When time comes (I do not know when), I will write an entry about one of the questions from each chapter. Should I mentioned there are about eighty chapters?

-3-

With one book down that means another one to be read. Almost like Cardinal Wuerl’s book, but with no questions at the end of each chapter; my next book is a compilation of Pope Emeritus Benedict XVI’s works under Ignatius Press. It is titled: The Transforming Power of Faith. I am excited to dive into the book, because well, I love Papa B’s works. And there are many moments (and I have written this in my book blog) where when I read his works I can hear him. Most would consider that insane, but it is true.

-4-

Going to Gym?! Yeah, you have read that, started going to the local YMCA here near where I am stationed. Sadly, our duty station has no base gym, but they are nice enough to give us a year membership to the YMCA. Though we are leaving soon, I had never once went to the YMCA. Reasons were when I wanted to go well, the winter storms started and that made it difficult to walk to the YMCA.

During this weekend I went there twice, once with my husband and another with a friend (another Navy wife). When it comes to working out, I have been a fan of working my legs. I guess it is because I walk so much that working my legs are key, but also when I was losing weight or just looking better, it was all to the leg works I did.

I have used two of the four machines that focus on legs (and they are not weights), I spending almost forty-five minutes on them. My thighs hate me right now, but my knees and ankles are loving me. My hope is that I go at least every other day, until we PCS. Then at our new duty station I will go, hopefully everyday, even if for two hours.

-5-

First Sunday of Lent, I was unable to go to Mass. There should be no excuse, but walking to the nearest parish is still a hassle, with little to no sidewalks and a lot of ice, it would be very unsafe for me. I mean it, for I fell almost three times just walking Maggie. (And I actually fell of the fourth slip, just could not catch myself, thankfully Maggie doesn’t run away when she feels I am not holding the leash.)

Another reason was my husband had to work, so I would have no transportation, to add to that because I know someone would or might say ‘well you could ask someone to take you’. With now only one friend I could contact, she would have not been able to help because her husband is on a different schedule and they only have one car.

I ask that everyone please pray for me, because I get upset when I cannot attend Mass, even if I do not like the diocese.

Well that is all for now, hope everyone had a lovely weekend.  Happy Lent! 

Leave a Reply

