Military Films with touches of Romance (List)

Victor JorgensenValentine’s Day is coming up and while many will be going out to dinner with their loved ones (or with friends if you are in the single department), there are a good many whose loved ones are deployed or in training. I am lucky to say my husband is home for this Valentine’s Day, but will he be for the others? Who knows.

In light of this I was looking through Military Spouse Magazine and their web-articles; one of them caught my eye. I looked through the list of movies, I was sitting there in deep thought about some of the movies.

My least favorite war movie with a touch of romance will always be Pearl Harbor. I cannot stand the love story, but I loved the depiction of December 7th, 1941 and the rescue scenes after the raid. One of the other things about the list is it was too chick-flick for even me. I love romance movies, books, and poems, but some of the modern movies just well kill it for me. I cannot explain it.

I took it as a challenge to bring a list of my own of war movies, that had touches of Romance. Many of these movies as you will notice were made pre-1970s, I am an old-movie gal so please just deal with it. Another thing some of these are not truly about the military at all, but are depictions of those who did what they could on the Home Front. And there are some where it feels there might not be any romance, but the littleness of the romance balances the movie. (And for me sometimes that little romances just helps with imagination of if the story kept going after the movie ended.)

I am deciding also not to put descriptions of the movies or numbers as to my favorites, I will be placing instead links to IMDB. That way I do not run off on one movie and not another. (Works better for me.)

Here we go!

Gone with the Wind (1939)

A Farewell to Arms (1932)

Casablanca (1942)

I’ll Be Seeing You (1944)

A Town Like Alice (1956)

South Pacific (1958)

In Harm’s Way (1965)

Top Gun (1986)

The Last of the Mohicans (1992)

Operation Pacific (1951)

Yankee Doodle Dandy (1942)

They Were Expendable (1945)

The Fighting Sea-bees (1944)

Hollywood Canteen (1944)

Anchors Aweigh (1945)

On the Town (1949)

The Sea Chase (1955)

Flying Leathernecks (1951)

The Clock (1945)

Operation Petticoat (1959)

Father Goose (1964)

Down Periscope (1996)

A League of their Own (1992)

The Patriot (2000)

The Horse Soldiers (1959)

She Wore a Yellow Ribbon (1949)

Flying Tigers (1942)

Reunion in France (1942)

Without Reservations (1946)

Rio Grande (1950)

The Wings of Eagles (1957)

An Officer and A Gentleman (1982)

Did any of your favorites enter my list? Were there some I missed? Write in the comments below your favorites? Let us get a list going!

Leave a Reply

