Epiphany, literally

Today is the Monday after the Solemnity of the Epiphany, that is where we celebrate the three Magi who followed a star to meet the child Jesus in the manger. I remember back when I went to my home parish, Fr. Thomas would emphasize on the manger, how it was a feeding trough. The Host is the Body of Christ, so how the symbolism that the child Jesus would be laid in a feeding trough.

Alas, it was not the feeding trough that brought out this entry, but what I read while I was praying the Office of Readings. The second reading, written by Saint Peter Chrysologus reminded me that God wants all his Children to come to him.

So the Gentiles, who were the last, become the first: the faith of the Magi is the first fruits of the belief of the Gentiles.

How many times I felt I was unworthy especially during those few moments I passed by St. Joseph’s Cathedral all those years ago, not knowing that what made that a ‘holy place’ was Jesus himself. God calls us all to Him, even if we question should we be welcome.

Today the Holy Spirit hovers over the waters in the likeness of a dove. A dove announced to Noah that the flood had disappeared from the earth; so now a dove is to reveal that the world’s shipwreck is at an end for ever.

My husband and I never looked at this in such a way, but how true it is. It is like how we should view death. I understood this by my own experience with my great-uncle. Death at one time was an end, but now it is as Fr. Thomas, O.P. said, ‘is just a commercial break’.

A tiny epiphany during Epiphany week.

 

Leave a Reply

