A New Pope: Pope Francis

I am so glad I woke up when I did, for I was still feeling the upset stomach this morning (thankfully I am much better…thank you all for your prayers). I had since the Conclave began yesterday turned on the live stream of EWTN whenever they were to have coverage on the Chimney. It was quite humorous to say that I would turn on the live stream maybe fifteen minutes before each coverage just in case they decided to start earlier. (In fact both times today they did)

Anyways, I watched early this morning coverage with the black smoke and after reading some of Come Meet Jesus I fell asleep. I woke up around noon or so and again I turned on EWTN. And as I mentioned above I am glad I woke up when I did. It was WHITE SMOKE! My heart leaped for joy as it was an official announcement that the Cardinals had decided on a Pope.

Of course the next question came to: who will it be? I was not guessing anything, because one, I felt whoever was to be Pope needed to know I had no bias. I understood others who spoke about their choices (especially on EWTN) had really good reasons because they knew more of what was in store.

The SUSPENSE was killing me as I had figured for others it was the same feeling. I had no idea what was in store, like I have mentioned in many different entries, I have never experienced this type of event. It felt like seconds were hours, to which I was glad for commentaries on EWTN and the little prayers I was mentally saying as I sat on the bed waiting for those doors to be opened. (To which I was just as jumpy as the new anchor lady was on EWTN when the lights went on.)

When the doors open you could hear the cheers and the cries from the crowd in St. Peter’s Square. A Cardinal came out to announce there was a new Papa! Anticipation was bubbly up in me, who was it? Of course I figured out the name of the new Pope was, Pope Francis! (I will get about that later) But the Cardinal who they mentioned I, baby Catholic did not know. A face of recognition was not there. So, while all of the others in the world might have known him, I had no clue.

Then a few moments later walking out from the red curtain was OUR NEW POPE!

Source: Globaltvbc.com

Source: Globaltvbc.com

My first intake of our new Holy Father was though he is just 76 he does not look like it. (Think he and my great-grandmother has a secret to tell on how that works) But, just like Pope Emeritus Benedict XVI there is this joy and humility within their expressions that makes me really like him. Here is a few things we know about Pope Francis:

When he spoke the first time his voice was to me very gentle. I would almost describe his attitude like that of a man who was just told he was a father for the first time, that humble awe. Of course just like a new father he needs to put in a little joke in there!

You all know that the duty of the Conclave was to give a bishop to Rome. It seems that my brother Cardinals have come almost to the ends of the earth to get him… but here we are. I thank you for the welcome that has come from the diocesan community of Rome.

Yet, what made my heart fill with such awe and joy is before he said his blessing he said this:

And now I would like to give the blessing, but first I want to ask you a favor. Before the bishop blesses the people I ask that you would pray to the Lord to bless me – the prayer of the people for their Bishop. Let us say this prayer – your prayer for me – in silence.

He bowed his upper body and it was at that moment I felt a sense of total love for this new Pope. He wanted to us to give him our blessing to be our Pope. The Humility that was shown I said, Papa Emeritus, the Cardinals have chosen well for someone to take over after you. (I still love Papa Benedict XVI! Which side note I am still writing my letter to him and will be sent out this week!)

I had mentioned that he chose the name Pope Francis, many including the commentaries of EWTN were wondering if it was for St. Francis of Assisi or St. Francis Xavier(a Jesuit Saint) . I would say most likely it will be for St. Francis of Assisi, since he is the patron Saint of Italy, but also as I am finding out more of the new Pope he is ever strong in helping with the poor. But, in my humble opinion I think the name would be a mixture of the two. Whatever the reason Pope Francis chose his name he will explain in due time.

Either way WE HAVE A POPE!

 

 

Leave a Reply

