Dinner: Creamy Pesto Gnocchi with Italian Sausage

Image

It was the best picture I could get with my phone, sorry.

Out of all the recipes I have made since I begun writing these “food entries” this is by far one of the favorites. This is a quick meal in all honesty (taking no more than forty minutes).

Ingredients 

  • 2 packages (1 lb each) Frozen Gnocchi
  • 2 tablespoons Olive Oil
  • 1/2 lb Sugar Snap Peas
  • 1 Medium Red Bell Pepper, cut into 1/2 inch dice
  • 1 package (19 ounces) Johnsonville Sweet or Mild Italian Sausage Links, casings removed
  • 3/4 to 1 cup prepared Pesto
  • 1/2 cup half-and-half or light Cream
  • 1/2 cup grated Parmesan Cheese

Directions

  1. Cook Gnocchi according to package directions in large pot. Drain, rinse, and return to pot. Cover and keep warm. 
  2. Heat oil in medium skillet over medium heat. Add peas and bell pepper; cook and stir four minutes or until crisp-tender. Transfer to pot with cooked gnocchi. 
  3. Return skillet to heat. Add decased sausage; cook and stir eight to ten minutes or until no longer pink and cooked through, breaking sausage into bite-size pieces. Transfer sausage to pot with slotted spoon; stir to combine. 
  4. Place pot over medium-low heat. Stir in pesto and half-and-half; toss gently to combine. Simmer until heated through. Sprinkle with cheese before serving. 

As I mentioned fairly easy and quick. I want to mention I never heard of Gnocchi until I had seen this recipe and had to actually look for it in the store. Now it mentions it to be frozen Gnocchi, but I can tell you if you find the Gnocchi with the noodles in the Italian grab them. Just follow the directions on how to cook them and you should be fine. I do recommend to rinse the Gnocchi too when you drain them.

As I mentioned in my last recipe entry about how Johnsonville has been kind and having un-cased Italian Sausage package, well again I recommend buying that instead of having the hassle of removing the casings. Also, though the recipe just like the last recipe states to have 19 ounces, 16 ounces (which the package I bought was weighed) works just fine.

Lastly, I recommend having Breadsticks and a side salad to go with this meal. Also please note it is to make six servings, but I feel if you are feeding more than three people please double the recipe ingredients. I am telling you it is THAT GOOD!

Happy Cooking

3 thoughts on “Dinner: Creamy Pesto Gnocchi with Italian Sausage

Leave a Reply

