Dinner Night: Beefy Hash Brown Potato Casserole

Image

A beginning of a new week means a start of cooking meals at home. Fridays and Saturdays are days were my husband and I will eat left-overs and then the next night is our date night.

Tonight thanks to my thinking of grabbing (and buying) those random little cookbooks on the magazine racks back when I worked at Kroger I was able to make this delightful and simple meal for a lazy Sunday.

Beef Hash Brown Potato Casserole takes less than forty minutes and is a great meal for two with some left overs (it claims to make for 5 servings, but I am telling you it might serve 3). I recommend serving it with a vegetable such as corn or peas.

Ingredients 

  • 1 lb of Ground Beef
  • 1 medium Onion, chopped (should be at least 1/2 cup)
  • 1 can (10 3/4 ounces) Campbell’s Condensed Cream of Mushroom (use either the regular or 98% Fat Free)
  • 1 tablespoon of Ketchup
  • 1 tablespoon of Worcestershire Sauce
  • 3 cups Frozen Fried Potato Nuggets

Directions

  1. Cook the beef and onion in a 10-inch skillet over medium-high heat until the beef is well browned, stirring to separate the meat. Pour off any fat.
  2. Stir the soup, ketchup and Worcestershire in the skillet. Spoon the beef mixture into a 2-quart shallow baking dish. Arrange the potatoes around the inside edge of the baking dish.
  3. Bake at 425-F for 25 minutes or until the potatoes are golden brown. 

Even though my husband and I hate Mushrooms we could not tell whatsoever that Mushrooms were in the meal. We are thinking next time we make this to test out using Cream of Potato.  (I will report the outcome if we do.)

Also I recommend something, while you are cooking the beef and onion take a mixing bowl and put together the Cream of Mushroom, Worcestershire, and Ketchup. In my opinion you will not have pockets of Worcestershire, but rather an even mixture.

Lastly, I am one of those people who will season my meat. I cannot help it, so I did add some Garlic and Basil. You do not have to do that, but something to think about when you want to make a meal more yours.

Leave a Reply

