Good Friday

on Good Friday

If I could pick a day in the liturgical year that I love the most other than Easter (Well the Vigil) it would be Good Friday.

Before noon I was already at the back entrance of the parish, praying the Liturgy of the Hours. I wore all black, as I normally do especially today it is a joyous mourning you could say. I placed my Dominican scapular on. (I tell you I looked the opposite of the Dominican Friars, Brothers, and Sisters) Thanks to Fr. Michael, O.P. I was able to enter the parish.

I walked into the stillness that form the aura of the chapel. Jesus is not there; He had been stripped away from the altar as He had been stripped from His Disciples to be taken to the chief priests.

I sat there looking at the bare altar and thought of something, the bare altar is our life without Jesus. It is a beautiful structure, but it is just that and nothing more. We can add things to the altar but it just make it a more beautiful structure, but with Jesus it is a place that holds something greater than itself. We can see that in ourselves in many examples.

It was as I was praying the Sorrowful Mysteries of the Rosary and the Stations of the Cross that I came upon to think that Jesus is being nailed to the Cross; His throne on this day. I can see myself at the Cross with Jesus hanging above me. I am crying for He is suffering and I cry out, “Why?” Jesus in pain looks down upon me, His gentle eyes looking at me only to say almost in a whisper, “For you.” You are shocked and in awe, and you just cry more because you do not understand how someone could do this for you, other than God, Himself.

It was during the Veneration of the Cross that I wrote these next few lines of thought.

As we kneel before the Crucifix, kissing the feet of our Savior, Jesus Christ; I cannot but be humbled by my Catholic faith. We are not just venerating His Throne, the wood, the Cross, but the Word made Flesh, whom died for us. Good Friday is a reminder to all that every time we come up to receive Jesus or just go to Mass we are coming to kneel before HIM on HIS THRONE.

Tonight He is placed in the tomb.

God Bless.

2 thoughts on “Good Friday

Leave a Reply

